I feel that the dormant goodwill in people needs to be stirred.  People need to hear that it makes sense to behave decently or help others, to place common interests above their own, to respect the elementary rules of human coexistence. (Emphasis added.)

Vaclav Havel

+ + +

Washington, D.C., politics, and American culture at large needs an infusion of goodwill.   For without it we will cease to exist.

You see the chaos created by undifferentiated egalitarianism.  You see, I hope, that each person or group striving to get his or her, or their “own way” does enormous destruction, creates hostility and division where none need exist.

Look around, we are awash in selfishness to the point that those characteristics which hold this Republic together are being breached, impaired – perhaps destroyed.

In my lifetime I have not seen such reason for concern for our nation’s future as I do now.  I realize, sadly, that there are apparently no statesmen or compassionate clerics, or wise and selfless writers, or artists whose love of this Land and others offer voice to call us back to our better selves.

We have no Vaclav Havel and that shows you the debasement of this culture at this time.

Getting to this point has been a long and steady process of decline – not attributable to one factor, or a handful of key factors – but rather one thing stacked on another all united by “hurrah for me” and “the hell with you.”

Having tried to awaken others to this decline by writing and discourse, I have now begun to take the problem in my own hands.

Recently, I was on the main street of my local small town and a lovely, aging, African-American lady was standing at a crosswalk, cane in hand.  She was the picture of sweetness and dignity: hair done “just right,” red sneakers on, dressed in a sporty outfit exactly right for her age and the cool May weather.  She was cuter than cute – a nice lady for sure.

I noticed her apprehension, as if she was a bit hesitant to cross the street. Sensing that I said, “Would you like a hand crossing?”  She said, “Yes.”

I held out my right arm and she grasped it and we began our steps and when we had but a few strides, I tilted my head toward her and said, “I just love the company of pretty young ladies.”  She smiled warmly.

Goodwill.  We have it in us.  But we must claim it … it is on you to do so.  We cannot continue to live each day in hostility … when love is so easily accessed and friendship so essential.

Shalom.

If you believe this message will help us all – share it with at least one person or more and ask them to share it with others.  We hold peace in our hands.

