Take away from love the fullness of self-surrender, the completeness of personal commitment, and what remains will be a total denial and negation of it. (Emphasis added.)

St. John Paul II

+ + +

Think about the inspired genius of these words.

Can you love if you do not trust?  In love think: “the fullness of self-surrender.” How can you love another without that “self-surrender.”

Many pledge their love but never link that proclamation with trust.

One can feel love of another, but the question to be asked by that one is this: do I trust the one to whom I profess my love?  And this, is my commitment complete? And this, too: do I give myself to the one I love in complete surrender?

Without trust, love fails.

A love that is trusting has no quarrel.  It holds no grudge.  It forgives easily.  It survives all things.  It knows contentment, peace, stability, certainty, eternity.

Love and Trust.  Think about it.

Shalom.

