Maggie Sullivan was married to Seamus for forty years, and a fine marriage it was.  Each could be themselves and as most women know in such a comfortable experience, Seamus was, in his natural state as a man, one who could playfully tease and joke affectionally with his beloved.

Well in the midst of their give and take one day, Maggie says to Seamus, after giggling at his gentle tomfoolery, “Seamus, I must have been a fool when I married you.”  To which Seamus replied, “Aye, but I was in love and never noticed.”

+ + +

Love and Truth.  Can there be love without truth?  Not likely.

When you think about it our Christian faith tells us as much.  We have a God of Love and a narrative that shares the Truth of being human and being created by a knowing and intentional God.

If a marriage relies on truth and love, does it not follow that a family and a society does as well?

In my life I know I was raised in a family where truth was told and love flowed freely.  This was, as a think about it, a live among faithful people, those who worshiped in their honesty and affection.  There was no censorship in that place. One said what we saw and experienced.  We dealt in truth and the search for, and experience of, it.  Love followed it in tandem.  Yes, I was raised in a secure environment within that family and among others in my community who lived quite the same way.  From truth and love, courage, optimism and community followed.  Life was lived and not avoided.

It is little wonder that I have friends with whom I share a life of 66 years of close friendship, of shared truth and indissoluble love.

As experience our culture today, especially the public culture, I see little taste for truth in media, little appetite for truth in politics.

I cite but two iterations.  One, the grotesque habit of having a government “spokesman” for the President, the State and Defense Department, etc. whose only distinguishing feature seems to be to avoid truth in favor of fiction, to disassemble and pronounce things a decent and sane person would or should know is, to say the lease, a shading of the truth.

The other citation is the extraordinary one-sided and repetitive narrowness of media reporters (televised and print).

On this latter group, I recall my very bright, truth-seeking Ph.D. son who said to me some years ago: “Dad, when I begin to read something in the newspapers and find a clear misstatement of fact or truth, I simply ignore the article and move on.”

He hardly gives the newspaper a glance today.  Neither does he eat rancid food. Same principle at play.

If there is no love without truth, we are destroying our access to the life Maggie and Seamus know?  I say, “Yes.”

I can tell you this if you avoid truth you lose intimacy, a life of ease and fellowship, the joys of man’s habitual unplanned follies and the laughter, humility, and wisdom they generously produce.

Be alert to what you hear.  Be discreet in your easy acceptance of it.  See the Truth, love is comes with it.

Shalom.

