“Everyone who acknowledges me before men – before men – I will also acknowledge before my Father who is in heaven; whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven.”

Mt 10:32

+ + +

Christianity is a religion of acknowledgement.  We are all born of God.  God in Christ raises the ante. Places acknowledgement directly in front of us.

” … whoever denies me before men, I also will deny before my Father who is in heaven.”

Those who founded this nation, acknowledged Christ not just before men, but before the world!

Today, we deny Christ.  We do so daily in multiple ways.  In our politics and public policies. In public voices and private lives.  In advocacy.  In the courts and from “the bench.”  In abhorrent behaviors we sanction, protect, advocate and advance. In our silence and our public dialogue and its particular neglect of, and hostility to, God, faith and the religious belief of others.

Yes, we have an election coming soon.  Elections are snapshots of who we are. Yet, who among us asks: How did we get the candidates we have before us?

One is a with troubled personal and public history.  The other arises from a Party which seems surprised by a candidate who speaks to the plight of the oft-forgotten working class and the faithful.

Would either exist if Christ was widely acknowledged?

We face today a view of who we have sadly become.  I contend that we face not an election per se but a time to acknowledge Christ or face the consequences.  

When we choose Christ, we find our true self.  We find God within us.  From this, good choices follow.  So too, confidence, courage, purpose, meaning, selflessness and contentment.  We grow as humans only in this way.

Do we not see around us that we are lost?  That we have shown so clearly that a life in which we try to live without faith breeds disaster, deceit and decline?

” … whoever denies me before men …”

Shalom.

