Jesus Christ meets the man of every age … with the same words: “You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (Jn 8:32)  These words contain … a fundamental requirement of an honest relationship with regard to truth as a condition for authentic freedom, and the warning to avoid every kind of illusory freedom, every superficial unilateral freedom, every freedom that fails to enter the whole truth about man and the world.

St. John Paul II, in Redemptor Hominis

+ + +

On the cusp of Independence Day we might all ask: Do I live in truth?  Or do I not?

Do I pretend to live in truth, but avoid showing it in my actions?  Am I cowered by social etiquette that would have me ignore stating the truth when others offer lies?  Do I submit to a political dialogue full of lies?  Submit to those who foster lying for personal or political gain and in so doing compromise my integrity? Compromise my freedom?  Compromise the freedom of others – indeed, compromise the freedom of a nation?

Do I challenge what is false when those in high places utter it?  Or do I forsake truth and in doing so become a slave, and enslave others?

Think about it.  If you favor ideology over faith, you favor what is false over what is true.  If you side with those known to lie for political advantage, you stand for lying and an end of freedom.

A Christian has been given truth.  Those who claim to be Christians, from top to bottom, have a sacred responsibility to stand for what is true and reject what is false.

If you see each day in our daily news evidence of lying and what is false, you ought to ask: Have we as a nation, as a people lost our way?  Lost our faith?  Lost our courage?  Lost our honor?  Lost our integrity?

Christ meets us, men and women – young and old, each age and the same question is posted each and every age to each and everyone who claims to be a Christian.  The question?  Do you seek truth?

Without truth the critical ancillary proposition arises: there is no freedom without truth.

Do you speak truth to those who speak untruth, no matter who they might be?  If not, you are not free – and you enslave others as well as yourself.

Shalom.

