Then the Lord God said, “It is not good for man to be alone; I will make him a helper suitable for him.”

Gen 2:18

+ + +

I was blessed to have women in my life who were remarkable people.  Indeed, remarkable in ways that women can be and men cannot be.

Men do not love as women do.  Men die for those they love.  Women give their life to those they encounter.  Men fight and die.  Women give life.

Yes, the good and wonderful women in my life gave me life.  They were far more than helpers.  They were life-givers.

I often say my mother saved my life.  I have no illusion: without her I most likely would have perished.

She gave of herself generously, day in and day out.

Some might think that sad because she did not put herself first.  But they are wrong, for the great ones among us define themselves by putting others first. They show their strength in this … and their faith, and their divine identity; they are complete in this – while those who live only for themselves sow disorder and others near fail at their disregard.

Yes, women are special and I have had a handful of special women in my life. More than any other human beings they shaped me and allowed me to be far better than I might otherwise have been.  Yes, women made me a man.

Do you see how valuable these good women are?

… his mother kept all these things in her heart.

Lk 2:51

Shalom.

