… Moses said to God, “when I go to the Israelites and say to them, the God for your fathers has sent me to you’ if they ask me, ‘What is his name?  what am I to tell them?”  God replied, “I am who am.”  Then He added, “This is what you shall tell the Israelites: I AM sent me to you.”

“This is my name forever; this is my title for all generations …”

Ex 3: 13, 14, 15

+ + +

This, of course, is the exchange between Moses, who was to lead his people out of Egyptian captivity, and God.

Our God – “I am who am.”

If God is who am and we are, how can we be so divided?  How can we create division? Listen to those who divide us from one another?  From God?  On the basis of race?  Age?  Income? Gender?  Least of all on sexual behavior?

How can we pursue policies that divide?  Leave others out?  Favor one group over another? Or place our desire for power or celebrity over others?  How can we speak as we do?

Is such division not contrary to “I am who am?”

The God we know is one of unity, one of One.  Are we not of that One?

Those who do not believe, divide.  Unbelief divides.  Can anyone lead who divides?   Who can lead who is not with God and with his fellow man?  His neighbors?

” … that they may all be one, as you Father, are in me and I in you, that they also may be in us …”

So says Jesus in the Gospel of John, Chapter 17, Verse 21.

Those who lead cannot divide.  They must believe, and their words must unify.

Shalom.

Please share this blog with others.

