All that is gold does not glitter, not all those who wander are lost; the old that is strong does not wither, deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire is woken, a light from the shadows shall spring; renewed shall be blade that was broken: the crownless again shall be king.  (Emphasis added.)

J. R. R. Tolkien

+ + +

Yes, we are in difficult times – and they are likely to become more difficult.  We have been led to faithlessness by those without faith.  They have done serious harm and laid much to waste.  But we are with faith.

Long ago I had a dream and in it I was standing atop a butte in the desert with a dry river bed below me.  There on the dry bed stood a group of about two to three dozen children.  They looked up to me and pleaded without words this: “Please help us.”

Without uttering a word my eyes said to them: “But you are down there and I am up here …”

With that, I was instantly standing among them and their open eyes asked me: “How did you do that?”

Then I said the only spoken words in the dream and these were the words: “For I’m with Christ.”

“For, I’m with Christ.”

In hard times, we need only know those words and find them deep within – a light springing from darkness.

Truth illuminates best when what is false is all around.  We live in the false of faithlessness now, and we hear it uttered everyday.

Your call in these challenging times is simply this: to witness each day the Crownless one who is the king.

Faith, Friends.  Faith in practice.  Do it.

“For I’m with Christ.”

Shalom.

