Each friend represents a world in us, a world of possibility not born until they arrive, and it is only by the meeting that a new world is born.

Anais Nin

+ + +

Pity those who do not make friends, who hunker down in the small hole that is their ego and nothing more, a confinement full of the toxic air of soul smothering alienation and frustration richly laced with hostility, gratuitous hostility.

Friends make us better.  They grow us.  We make room for them in our life and in this we discover more about who we are, find a safe haven in another and learn about the world around us.

Often when I do something for someone they might say: “Thank you, you helped me so much.”  I always respond, “Any time I do anything for another it is a gift to me.”  They often look puzzled.  Then I say, “By allowing me to help, you enrich my life, you invite into your life – make me and my day meaningful.”

Yes, friendship does this.  Yes, friendship opens us to a new world, a wider world found in our greater depth, in the growth of service to another.

Friendship brings us closer to God and to an eternal life, to life everlasting.

Think of it this way: you have had a friend who has moved away but you have sustained that friendship over the miles, and over time.  That gives you a glimpse of eternity.  A friendship that spans time and place shows eternity to us, makes the notion of eternity real, understandable.  Loving relationships never die; they exceed mortal life.  This is the nature of friendship.

Yes, friendships present us with a world we hardly can imagine but for friendship which makes it so.

“I no longer call you slaves … I have called you friends, because I have told you everything I have heard from my Father.

Jn 15: 15

Yes, friendship opens a whole new world to us.

Be a friend and cherish friendship.

Shalom.

