The truth is incontrovertible.  Panic may resent it; ignorance may deride it; malice may distort it, but there it is.

Winston Churchill

+ + +

When I see this week’s events in Baltimore I am reminded how people shy away from the truth in preference to their own prejudiced views, preferred notions and myths.

As to truth, in Baltimore I see how politics and policy does not change hearts, only a relationship with God does that.

I see in Baltimore that five decades of government attention to race and poverty has institutionalized both race and poverty in our culture and our major cities.

In Baltimore, like many other major cities, I see low high school graduation rates, fatherless children born to young single mothers, high rates of murder and other violent acts, young men with no job skills or disciple; I see widespread drug use and tensions between police and citizens.

In Baltimore, I see a one party city – a city governed by Democrats and its African-American population and I see dependence on government and an erosion of personal responsibility.  I see, sadly, inter-generational poverty and a welfare system in place of work.  I see, in this, people who are trapped by a political party and narrative that keeps its supporters enslaved and chokes off economic growth. Likewise, I see LBJ’s “Great Society” idea of throwing money at “a problem” is not a helpful way to provide for human development and prosperity – but rather the opposite.  In Baltimore, I see one party of the Left that cannot recognize their own failure and the punishment it foists on its impoverished followers. In this I see: truth denied.

We know with certainty that people exceed the grasp of poverty if: they graduate from high school with skills reflective of a serious secondary education, they live in an intact family, they reserve having children until marriage, they stay free of addictions and criminal conduct.  Our jails, addiction treatment centers, medical clinics and welfare rolls are full of people who have not done these things.

Truth is right there.  When, oh when will we acknowledge it?

God has made us for so much more.  In truth there is peace and prosperity, and harmony among free and independent people.  Are we not of one God?

If now isn’t a good time for the truth, I don’t see when we’ll get to it. 

Nikki Giovanni

Shalom.

Thank you for sharing this blog with others.  We are in this together – no divisions by faith or race, or age, gender, ethnicity, work, income or what-have-you.

