For it was you who formed my inner parts; you knit me together in my mother’s womb … My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.  Your eyes beheld by unformed substance.  In your book were written all the days that were formed for me, when none of them yet existed.

Ps 139:13,15-16

Dedicated to my son, Jared, and my grandson, Jack.

+ + +

Why do we live as if life is the beginning and the end?  It is not.  To think it is, is to let mortality and the mundane control you, limit you, wrench you from reality – from what actually IS.

Confined to mortality, life is a death sentence, a cell in which we count the days in fear and trepidation. How easily we yield, how quickly we surrender.

Birth is not the beginning, nor death the end.  Our life is a round trip ticket: from God to God, from eternity to eternity.

Jesus was before Bethlehem.  Jesus is after Golgotha.  Are you not too?

In life we are the manifestation of God, a God before life and a God after life.  We are not captured by life and death because we are God’s and God is not captured by life or by death.

Has mortality become your truth?  Or has immortality become your truth?  In the former is fear; not so the latter.

Your eyes beheld my unformed substance.  This I must remember.  There is no worry, nor fear.  Instead: certainty.

Shalom.

